Irish Civil War

The Irish Civil War is a war between Irish Independentist divided between them on the Treaty of London ratified by Dáil Éireann in December 1921.The majority follow Arthur Griffith and Michael Collins, members of the first government of the Irish Free State created by the treaty, and a minority follows Éamon de Valera.

The Anglo-Irish treaty, negotiated between a delegation of Sinn Féin led by Arthur Griffith and Michael Collins and the British government of David Lloyd George, ends the war of Irish independence. It provides the partition of Ireland, the creation of an Irish Free State with dominion status in the twenty-six counties of the south and an oath of allegiance to the British crown by members of the Irish parliament.

It was signed on December 6, 1921 in London, it was ratified by the House of Commons and proclaimed royally a year later. Ratification by the Dáil wasn’t easy, due to the opposition of two of the independence leaders of the war, Éamon de Valera and Cathal Brugha. The treaty was finally ratified just on January 7, 1922. In protest, de Valera left the Dáil and resigned from the presidency of the republic. A provisional government is then formed around Arthur Griffith to ensure the creation of the Free State.